The SkywalkerSwartz Blog

Sunday, April 20, 2003

The fake blogger

So I was going through old email messages trying to find out how to get into my old Geocities account (They got bought by Yahoo...the answer is that you use your old login with ".geo" appended...which means that my hasn't-been-updated-in-four-years Bach website is now at both http://www.geocities.com/Vienna/2547/bachsecular.html and http://www.geocities.com/lswartz.geo/bachsecular.html. But I digress.) ...ahem...so I'm looking through old emails and find this odd email from "Bianca Broussar" that mentions weblogging. I don't think I had heard of blogging until at least last year, but here is an email from 2000 that mentions it. At first glance, I wondered why I never responded to this email ("How rude of me!" I thought). But then I grew suspicious...for example, why does she say "Hi 'lswartz'" as though my real name isn't on the site a bunch of times?

Well, it turns out that "Bianca" is really just a not-so-clever piece of viral marketing from Xenga.com.



Comments: Post a Comment

Blog Archive

Luke's Homepage